Changes

Change..according to Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary means a: to make different in some particular : alter b: to make radically different : transform c: to give a different position, course, or direction to.

Change can be good. Change can be difficult. Change can make or break things. I think most of the time how one responds to change can make all the difference in the world.

We have had a lot of changes in the past year and quite a few coming up. Here are some of them.

  • Matthew started kindergarten
  • Our business has grown a lot
  • My Mom went through cancer…and survived 🙂
  • Bradley graduated and moved out 1 1/2 years ago
  • I have been changing..attitude, emotions, thoughts etc.
  • My Mom has had more health issues
  • The economy has changed
  • My Mom has to have back surgery next week
  • We lost our contract with Lowe’s…major change
  • Our church is changing by leaps and bounds…never know what to expect next
  • Jenna will be starting middle school in the fall
  • I will have to get used to two different school schedules (traditional & year round) Don’t know how that’s going to fly..will be a big change
  • Presidential changes coming up

 

Change can be scary. Sometimes it’s easier to stay in your comfort zone because at least you know it and are comfortable with it. But life would be pretty boring and drab if we didn’t ever experience changes.

I remember dreading the fact that Matthew was going to be starting kindergarten. I was getting upset and somewhat depressed. I mean what would I do? I’ve had a kid or kids around for so many years. Matthew being the last one home brought me a lot of joy. He was fun and fun to be around. There was never a dull moment with him. I really feared being alone. As the time was coming for him to go to school I made the decision that I would not let this change get to me that I would embrace it as a new season in my life. I started looking at it with expectancy. I didn’t know what it would be like..but I could do anything I wanted. I would have freedom. I really changed my attitude about it and therefore had a great summer before he went instead of dreading it and being depressed. It didn’t take long for me to get used to my new season of life.

Changes are inevitable. Changes are going to come weather we want or not, weather we like it or not. You can embrace it or not. Not all changes are for all people. That’s ok too. But it all boils down to attitude and how you are going to respond to those changes. I choose to be positive…even though it’s not my nature and I really have to work at it.  

When you are faced with changes how will you respond?

Leave a Reply

