My Day of Mourning is Over

 

Sunshine

 

My day of mourning is over, the black cloud has lifted and today is a new day. And I’m making it a great day! I’m feeling much better than I did yesterday. I have learned so much about myself the past few years it isn’t funny. You’d think after 30 something years I would know myself real good by now. Not the case. But anyway, I knew yesterday was a day that I would have to work through. Thank God I’m not how I used to be!! Years before I would have been in a funk for awhile (like days, weeks, etc) with no clue how to get through it. Now I can rest in the assurance that God is my source of healing. Instead of trying to figure out what to do next to get through those humps in life, now I just trust in Him and rely on Him to bring me through it. I love that!

So what was wrong with me yesterday? It was a culmination of several things.

  • My house has been a disaster all week…Tom has been painting our ceiling and working on painting the walls.
  • So if Tom is home painting you can guess what that means…Tom has not been working
  • Yes we are experiencing the financial crunch in our work..but we are SO thankful it has not been as bad as others in our trade
  • I’ve been going to bed rather late for me…lack of sleep does me much harm!
  • My kids were out of school for 2 days this week so at times I had my 3 plus 4 more neighborhood kids in and out of my house…amidst the painting..I’m sure you’re getting the picture
  • Seems I’ve been going & doing everyday for weeks now…I know by now that I can only take so much and then I need some serious down time
  • Ok, I’ll admit it, I was disappointed in the election outcome…disappointed, hurt, concerned, yet happy & elated about history being made. So sue me for being emotional about it!

That about sums it up in a nutshell. I was overwhelmed, stressing, & just being a typical emotional woman. At least now it only lasts a day versus weeks or months. I’ve come a loonnggg way baby, but I’ve still got a lonngg way to go. I love that I can see progression in my life. It’s awesome!

So today, I am getting some much needed downtime. Enjoying my peace and quiet…kids are in school & Tom IS working today. I am not going anywhere unless it’s an emergency, I’ve unplugged my phone..oh yea and I don’t feel bad about it either. If it’s a real emergency they have my cell number. I’m going to enjoy today and spend some time with my source of strength and peace..God. Lord knows I need Him, who knows what’s coming up next week!

How is your day? What do you do when you’re overwhelmed?

Leave a Reply

