What I’m Thankful for Today

Rock Church 

Four days before Thanksgiving and I thought I’d take the next few days to post some things I am thankful for. I know I sometimes take things for granted but during this holiday season I have decided that I would really focus on the things that really matter.

For today I am very thankful for my church, Rock Church! It has been three years since we started coming to the Rock. When we started at the Rock we had left a church home we had been in for five years. A church that we were very much involved in and in the end a church that had hurt us terribly. I am still to this very day reeling from the effects of that hurt.

To be honest when I came to the Rock I pretty much had no faith in church, absolutely no faith or trust in church leadership, and unfortunately at the time not much faith in God because of things that had happened. I was really confused, disoriented and dazed about all of it. No one knew the hurt I had or the confusion I was experiencing. I went through the first few years just sitting back and watching and listening to everything that was said & done. I mean I watched like a hawk. Months went by and nothing seemed amiss but I just couldn’t relax or let go of the hurt I had. We would come and then we would be out for awhile. Still so confused about where we were supposed to be and also for me I just couldn’t trust a church or it’s leadership. I have to say that one of things that did make us come was our kids. It was one thing if we gave up on church but always in the back of our mind was that the kids needed to have a strong foundation and in the state we were in we weren’t giving them anything positive about church or faith in God. (So sad but so true)  And they loved coming to church at the Rock Church.

The Rock church has proven to me after three years of attending that they are a church that does not under any circumstances judge anybody. Wow! I mean I have sat and watched and listened, they have never done that. There were times we were literally told that we were dying and going to hell just for not going to church on a Sunday night at another church.  Every single time we were out at the Rock and we came back people were glad to see us and genuinely concerned about us. Sometimes I would get a call or an email just checking in on us. This lady has been such an inspiration to me on so many occasions. If anyone has convinced me just by their actions, their support, and genuine concern, that the Rock and it’s leadership is the real thing it’s her!

I am still growing and learning to get past the past hurts, distrust, and all those things associated with being so deeply hurt by a church and leaders in a church. But in a place like the Rock Church it sure makes things easier to deal with.

So today I am thankful for the Rock Church, our Pastor, his wonderful wife, the founding pastors, and all those in the church who have accepted us unconditionally and without passing judgement. I thank you and I thank God for you. And I bless this church for being the type of church that it is; a non judgemental refuge of hope for hurting people.

What are you thankful for today?

1 Comment

  1. jennifer said,

    November 30, 2008 at 10:45 am

    I love you and your family! So glad you are a part of my life.


Leave a Reply

